Rensselaer faculty members were honored with annual Institute awards recognizing their service and accomplishments at the 54th annual Faculty Recognition Dinner, which was held at the Heffner Alumni House May 2.

Michael Shur, Patricia W. and C. Sheldon Roberts Professor of Solid State Electronics, received the William H. Wiley 1866 Distinguished Faculty Award. Established by Edward P. Hamilton ’07 in memory of William H. Wiley (Class of 1886), the award honors those who have won the respect of the faculty through excellence in teaching, productive research, and interest in the totality of the educational process.

Anak Agung Julius, associate professor of electrical, computer, and systems engineering, received the James M. Tien ’66 Early Career Award for Faculty, which honors productivity in both teaching and research, with outstanding achievement in one of those areas.

Yalun (Helen) Zhou, assistant professor of communication and media, received the Class of 1951 Outstanding Teaching Development Grant, which was established by members of the Class of 1951 to honor faculty members for their accomplishments and outstanding performance in undergraduate teaching.

Thierry Blanchet, professor of mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering, received the Jerome Fischbach ’38 Faculty Travel Award, funded by Jerome Fischbach ’38 to recognize contributions faculty members have made to the education and motivation of students.

In addition to the award winners, a number of faculty members were recognized for their years of service:

25 Years of Service

Richard Bopp

Tamar Gordon

Isom Herron

Antoinette Maniatty

Branda Miller


30 Years of Service

Selmer Bringsjord

Joe Chow

Ernesto Gutierrez-Miravete

Yannick Le Coz

Bruce Piper

Arthur Sanderson

Susan Sanderson

Donald Schwendeman

Patricia Search


35 Years of Service

Jeffrey Durgee

John Gowdy

Cheng Hsu

Gerald Korenowski

Toh-Ming Lu

Michael Podowski

Bill Puka

John Schroeder


45 Years of Service

Albert Paulson


50 Years of Service

Harry McLaughlin


55 Years of Service

William Wallace


Retiring Faculty

Pier Abetti

Angel Garcia

John Gowdy

Norberto Lemcoff

Mark Mistur

Paul Miyamoto

Lee Odell

David Rainey

James Stodder

Doug Whittet

John Woods

Michael Zuker