Eighteen undergraduates have won scholarships from the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) for the 2013-2014 academic year, reflecting both the caliber of Rensselaer students and the rigor of the university’s engineering programs.

SWE scholarships provide recognition and financial support for promising women who are pursuing careers in engineering, engineering technology, and computer science. Rensselaer SWE members consistently rank among the top for numbers of scholarships received.

“Year after year, our students compete for, and win, more national and regional awards than their peers in larger programs. That speaks to the quality of our students—academically and as leaders,” said Deanna Thompson, associate professor of biomedical engineering.

Thompson and Diana-Andra Borca-Tasciuc, associate professor of mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering, serve as advisers for SWE at Rensselaer.

Seventeen students received Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Scholarships. A SWE fellow, Dorothy Hoffman earned a bachelor’s in chemical engineering from Rensselaer in 1947.

This year’s Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Scholarship winners are: Andrea Deeb ’17, biomedical engineering; Emily Phillips ’17, chemical engineering; Angelie Ramdial ’17, computer systems engineering; Daisy Rojas ’17, mechanical engineering; Donna Creighton ’16, mechanical engineering; Alison Lanzi ’16, biomedical engineering; Nicole Mowder ’16, mechanical engineering; Sarah Straub ’16, materials engineering; Alexandra Allen ’15, mechanical engineering; Stephanie Sawicz ’15, biomedical engineering; Nwakaego Uzoh ’15, chemical engineering; Stefany FeKula ’14, biomedical engineering; Madeline Muench ’14, materials engineering; Meghan Olson ’14, mechanical engineering; Rosalie Shaw ’14, mechanical engineering; Jessica Stratton ’14, civil engineering; and Rebecca Zell ’14, mechanical engineering.

In addition, Elisabeth Posthill ’14, biomedical engineering, won the SWE Mid-Hudson Section Scholarship.