In 1994, through the generosity of several members of the Board of Trustees and at the direction of the President, the Trustees’ Outstanding Teacher Award was established.  This award, which is given annually, recognizes outstanding accomplishments in classroom instruction and consists of a $10,000 honorarium.

Sibel Adali

Sibel Adali, Professor of Computer Science, received the 2015 Trustees’ Outstanding Teacher Award.

The selection will be made based on evidence of sustained outstanding teaching as reflected by student evaluations from the last two years, peer evaluations, and letters of support from colleagues, alumni, and students.

The selection committee consists of the following individuals:

Prabhat Hajela, provost (committee chair); Mike Hanna, associate dean of undergraduate education and associate professor of biology; Elisha Mozersky, chief of staff; Sibel Adali, professor of computer science and winner of the 2015 Trustees’ Outstanding Teacher Award; and Marcus Flowers, Grand Marshal.

The committee will be charged with making a recommendation to President Jackson, who will make the final selection. All nominations will remain in effect for two years and should include the following information:

1) Letter of Nomination

2) Curriculum Vitae

3) Letters of support from alumni, students, colleagues, and/or administrators

Individual faculty or students are invited to submit nominations no later than 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 26, to Prabhat Hajela, provost. The Office of the Provost will solicit the student evaluation material from the appropriate department and/or school for all nominations received.