Rensselaer faculty members were honored with annual Institute awards, and for service and dedication, at the 52nd annual Faculty Recognition Dinner, held May 5 in the Heffner Alumni House.

James Hendler, the Tetherless World Senior Constellation Professor and director of the Rensselaer Institute for Data Exploration and Applications, received the William H. Wiley Distinguished Faculty Award. Established by Edward P. Hamilton ’07 in memory of William H. Wiley (Class of 1886), the award honors those who have won the respect of the faculty through excellence in teaching, productive research, and interest in the totality of the educational process.

Guohao Dai, assistant professor of biomedical engineering, received the James M. Tien ’66 Early Career Award for Faculty, which honors productivity in both teaching and research.

Zvi Rusak, professor of mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering, received the Jerome Fischbach Faculty Travel Grant, which is funded by Jerome Fischbach ’38 for contributions faculty members have made to the education and motivation of students.

Sandipan Mishra, assistant professor of mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering, received the Class of 1951 Outstanding Teaching Award, established by the Class of 1951 to recognize faculty members for their outstanding accomplishments in education.

It was also announced that Sibel Adali, associate professor of computer science, will receive the Board of Trustees’ 2015 Outstanding Teacher Award, which was established in 1994 to recognize outstanding accomplishments in classroom instruction. Adali will be given the award during the fall board meeting.

In addition to the award winners, a number of faculty members were recognized for their years of service:

25 Years of Service
June Deery
Ernesto Gutierrez-Miravete
Prabhat Hajela
Amir Hirsa
James P. Stodder

30 Years of Service
Mark Goldberg
Martin Hardwick
Russell Leslie
Charles Malmborg
Sandra Nierzwicki-Bauer
Frank Spear
Boleslaw Szymanski
Langdon Winner
James Zappen

35 Years of Service
David Bell
Linnda Caporael
David Isaacson

40 Years of Service
Ralph Noble

50 Years of Service
Bimal Malaviya

In addition, it was announced that several members of the faculty are retiring this year: Lester Gerhardt, David Goldenberg, Mark Goldberg, Larry Kagan, John Maleyeff, Victor Roytburd, Sheppard Salon.