In tribute to their outstanding commitment to the Institute and their fellow alumni, the Rensselaer Alumni Association (RAA) and the Office of Alumni Relations have recognized an outstanding group of volunteers with the 2016 RAA Awards.

The awards will be presented at the 30th annual RAA Awards Dinner on Thursday, October 6, during Reunion & Homecoming weekend.


Trustee Nancy Mueller was chosen to receive the Distinguished Service Award (DSA), the highest award presented by the RAA.

Institute Trustee Nancy Mueller was chosen to receive the Distinguished Service Award (DSA), the highest award presented by the RAA. The DSA recognizes “distinguished service by alumni or friends to Rensselaer, to a profession, to the nation, or to humanity.” Mueller was selected in recognition of longtime support of the Institute, in particular her service as a trustee, and the yearly Summer Garden Party she hosts at her home for incoming students in the Silicon Valley area.

Eric Ledet, M.S.’95, Ph.D.’03 associate professor of biomedical engineering, was chosen to receive the RAA Teaching Award. The award recognizes current members of the Rensselaer faculty for their outstanding teaching techniques, contributions to the campus experience, and commitment to students.

Two members of the Alumni Relations staff will be honored this year. Peter Pedone, associate advancement officer, was chosen to receive an Alumni Key, given in recognition of outstanding service in support of the advancement of Rensselaer, and Jeffrey Schanz, assistant vice president for alumni relations, will receive the Albert Fox Demers Medal, for “stimulating interest in the welfare of the Institute.”

“The RAA Awards program allows us to publicly recognize our most valuable alumni partners—our outstanding volunteers,” said RAA President Theresa Kozikowski ’85, ’86G. “We thank all of our award recipients for their many contributions to Rensselaer.”

A full list of this year’s winners:

Distinguished Service Award
Nancy S. Mueller

Albert Fox Demers Medal
Roger A. Grice ’87 Ph.D.
Raul E. Lopez-Palm ’77G
Jeffrey M. Schanz

Alumni Key Award
Allan R. Ginsberg ’62
Bonnie L. Hepburn ’66, ’67G
Christian C. Johnson ’86
Aldo Manzini, parent
Robyn Ratcliffe Manzini, parent
Peter F. Pedone
Sandeep Sharma ’88G
Reid Wiseman ’97

RAA Teaching Award
Eric H. Ledet ’95G, ’03 Ph.D.

RAA Red & White Emerging Leader Award
Tanner J. Hart ’17
Julia J. Lane ’17
Claire E. Lukasiewicz ’17

Director’s Award
Kathleen M. Coderre ’06
David J. Haas ’82
Benjamin F. Hom ’89
Emily A. Grandstaff-Rice ’99, ’00
Hector J. Toro ’11
Garett M. Vassel ’10

Alumni Admissions Recognition of Excellence Award
Harry Rosenthal ’60
Gordon L. Snyder ’66

Craig W. Angell ’35 Chapter of the Year Award
Washington, D.C./Baltimore
Christian C. Johnson ’86, President

For more information on the RAA Awards program.