Rensselaer captured nine individual events and two relays in winning the 2017 Liberty League men’s indoor track and field championship Feb. 11 at the Gordon Field House at Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT). The Engineers, who won their second title in the past three years, pulled away from defending champion and host RIT, finishing with 223 points. RIT (192) was second, followed by St. Lawrence (65) and Union (38).

Senior Benjamin Fazio was recognized as the Outstanding Track Performer after winning both the 800 (1:57.41) and the mile (4:21.14). Fazio’s impressive victory in the 800 came by more than three seconds.

Rensselaer swept the meet awards as senior Mike Pesanello was recognized as the Outstanding Field Performer and first-year junior Terrence Lawrence earned Outstanding Rookie honors. Pesanello won the weight throw with a toss of 16.95 meters, finishing more than two meters ahead of his nearest competitor. He also added a third-place finish in the shot put with a toss of 13.86 meters. Lawrence was victorious in the high jump (1.98 meters) and added a second-place finish in the 60-meter dash (7.14) and a fifth-place finish in the 60-meter hurdles (8.65). Lawrence’s time in the 60-meter hurdles prelims of 8.45 was the top time of the day in the event.

Rensselaer also received victories from Sean O’Connor in the 5,000 (15:05.44), Alex Jonson in the 60-meter hurdles (8.48) and Grant O’Connor in the 3,000 (8:37.41).

Three meet records were set during the afternoon. RIT sophomore Matthew Lienhard recorded a winning time of 7.00 in the 60-meter dash, eclipsing the previous mark of 7.03 set in 2012 by Jarell Roberts of St. Lawrence. Rensselaer freshman Dale Kelly recorded a record-setting time of 22.39 in the 200-meter dash, also eclipsing a mark of 22.44 set by Roberts in 2012. The Rensselaer distance medley relay team of Noah Falasco, Zack Feuer, Garrett Davis, and Colin Smith finished in a record time of 10:31.70, smashing the mark of 10:37.24 set by RIT in 2015.

To view the entire list of 2017 Liberty League Indoor Track & Field Champions.