In tribute to their outstanding commitment to the Institute and their fellow alumni, an outstanding group of volunteers will be recognized by the Rensselaer Alumni Association (RAA) and the Office of Alumni Relations with the 2014 RAA Awards.

The awards will be presented at the annual RAA Awards Dinner on Thursday, Oct. 9, during Reunion & Homecoming weekend.

Roger Orloff ’60 was chosen to receive the Distinguished Service Award (DSA), the highest award presented by the RAA. The DSA recognizes “distinguished service by alumni or friends to Rensselaer, to a profession, to the nation, or to humanity.”

“The RAA Awards program allows us to publicly recognize our most valuable alumni partners—our outstanding volunteers,” said RAA President Roger Mike ’70. “We thank all of our award recipients for their many contributions to Rensselaer.”

Additional award winners include:

Albert Fox Demers Medal

George Derrick ’67
Michael Herman ’62
Sandeep Nandy ’94

Alumni Key Award

Ashley Brandin ’06
Paul Hess ’86
Manuel Gaetan ’58
Theresa Kozikowski ’85, ’86
Keith Morris ’78

RAA Teaching Award

Bimal Malaviya, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Nuclear Engineering

RAA Red & White Emerging Leader Award

Elise Budd ’15

Director’s Award

Andy Daniel ’81, ’82G
David Fowkes ’89
Thomas Luciano ’64
Sonia Reigles ’03, ’03G
Charles Roedel ’64
Carol Yvette Thorney ’03G

Alumni Admissions Recognition of Excellence Award

Karen Allen Lynch ’87
Craig W. Angell ’35 Chapter of the Year Award
Rensselaer Alumni Chapter of Hudson-Mohawk, Jonathan Sefcik ’05G, President

Special Recognition Award for Rensselaer Alumni

Chapters Rensselaer Alumni Chapter of New Jersey,
Lauren Thomas ’01, President

Rensselaer Alumni Chapter of San Francisco

Alexander Salinsky ’07, President


For more information on the RAA Awards program, visit the alumni website.